20 Best Practices for App Marketing which gained me over 250K+ Downloads 📈

The 101 App Marketing guide to help you grow your app business (guaranteed)!

Remco van Akker
17 min readDec 8, 2021
Photo by Dominika Roseclay from Pexels

Introduction

I’m going to cover the 20 best practices for app marketing that I’ve learned in the last years from marketing experts like Steve Young, Braydon Batungbacal, and many more. I’m not that active anymore in the app space because, in the last years, I've become more interested in AI, Data Science, and Algo Trading, but still I would like to share these 20 practices with you that I’ve always used when I was working on an app. It helped rank my biggest app to position #1 in 2 weeks after release and my other app from position #60 to #3, and that is not all. This indicates how these 20 best practices helped me and I hope you’ll find use in them. The article is a bit focused on Android apps but you can apply all these practices for iOS too.

Choosing the right name for your app

A good name can lead to the real success of the app; a bad name can lead the app to its downfall. It’s important to make sure your app’s name is unique and can be recognized easily. Additionally, think about the keywords you want to score on and use that in your app name if possible. This gives your app a…

--

--